an Exclusive Deluxe boutique hotel : Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Home | The Mansion | Cotton | Bedrooms | Wedding | Meeting | Photo Shoot | Dining | Rates | Special Offers | Things To Do | Directions | Contact Us
The Mansion | Public Rooms | History | News | Reviews | Internet Facilities | Jobs | Gallery | Sister Hotel | Partner Hotels
check-in-date
Length of stay
adults children rooms
booking code
Edit/Cancel Reservations


   เยาวราชที่รัก

 
Ask us for Avialability
Name * :
E-Mail * :
Country :
Tel :
Comments or Questions

 

Media Reviews | Guest Reviews
After 2010

Shanghai Mansion Guest Reviews

Guest Name michael M.
Period of Stay December 30, 2010
Guest Review Great Hotel and even a greater location Service, resturants and location ,I have stayed here several times without any problems at all.

Guest Name tessiebear1976
Period of Stay December 2010
Guest Review Fantastic, Great Location.....Really enjoyed our stay there, it is right in the middle of China town, and it is so much fun, just walking out of the door, it is MANIC!!!, food, smells, tuk tuks, bustle! Really enjoyed it. My partner is a photographer and literally every corner had a story to tell. The breakfast was a mixture of uk/american to order, fresh continental, nice juices, fruits and yoghurts, and my favourite, Chinese - dim sum, ribs, rice and noodles, chicken, fish and soups, Soo good! The tours were good that were booked too, and were a little more reasonable than one's I had previously found on line, which I cancelled on arrival, and booked them through the hotel. I thought the hotel was quite reasonable, and had a great reception area and lobby with a little pond and lanterns above it. It also had a jazz bar attached which is where you have breakfast. Great place, and a great introduction to Bangkok. Thank you

Guest Name jonglo (Brighton, United Kingdom)
Period of Stay December 2010
Guest Review

Perfect Location in China Town

Great little hotel in the heart of china town to use as a base to explore Bangkok. Made to feel very welcome on arrival and the staff could not be more helpful. The hotel feels like a lot of thought has gone into its decorations and fit out and feels more like a boutique hotel than a main hotel in Bangkok Unique room done in an authetic far east style. Great walk in shower, nice big room.

Guest Name Evaya
Period of Stay Dec 29, 2010
Guest Review Stayed at this hotel for 2 days. (husband and wife)
At reception we were met by Naf, friendly iobschitlny chelovek.V what he told us how to get to the places we need and where better to go.
The room was great, very cozy and stilnaya.V it was a huge bed which was unforgettable to sleep.
In the morning we waited for breakfast buffet., delicious with dishes to suit every taste.
We really liked this hotel, we want to go there again and if possible we'll certainly stay in it 

Guest Name leong W
Period of Stay December 28, 2010
Guest Review in overall hotel are nice , clean rooms , although lobby are bit small but friendly staff , no communications barriers between ourself . free internet but bit slow connections , and rooms needs more daily ammenities . have to request for hair dryers and friendly staff would be able to handle it .

Guest Name katarzyna D.
Period of Stay December 19, 2010
Guest Review

design and atmosphere

Lovely stay, very nice staff and generally lovely hotel. great location as well!

Guest Name dani R.
Period of Stay December 11, 2010
Guest Review nice,'greate location'
Good value for money.I would go there again.the chinese spirit is well kept,the location un chainatown is very interesting,very good for shoping un the area,exelent restauronts,easy way to public transportation.the best hotel in chainatown.

Guest Name soon H.
Period of Stay December 07, 2010
Guest Review The hotel is nice .. very well decorated .. the staffs are all very friendly

Guest Name niels E.
Period of Stay December 05, 2010
Guest Review great decorated. spacious, interesting area.great bed! realy enjoyed to stay here for 3 nights.........this is a real hotel, chineese old fasion feeling. the staff is verry frendly, location bussy and interesting, best bed in thailand so far.....the room was cosy with warm chineese furniture........real Cofee personal made and served coffee at breakfast! 9 point!

Guest Name sharklad 
Period of Stay November 2010
Guest Review nice, well decorated room (cheapest room type)
room is perhaps a little small, but that would be the only critism.
we have stayed here before in Jan 2008, and as we enjoyed before, we decided to come back again.
good location for Chinatown sites. would recommend 

Guest Name ducks13
Period of Stay 30/11/2010
Guest Review was a great relief to escape of the streets or china town into this plush hotel. clean, very helpful, friendly, beautiful rooms and tasty food. looks very classy. our room was beautiful, but the more expensive rooms looked even more stunning. very good value for money. and good jazz in the bar. very well designed, decorated and maintained.

Guest Name michael S.
Period of Stay November 29, 2010
Guest Review

Exquisite rooms and service

The ambiance is great and the rooms are a pleasure. I wish they had an outside view, however. The layout of the restaurant is very poor and could be improved I'm sure if the little stage didn't infringe so. Service is wonderful with everyone on the staff being cheerful, helpful and making you feel at home. Being so close, 10 minutes to a ferry stop on the river make exploring a breeze and it is a short walk to the train station or the Metro. I would suggest anyone looking for a romantic, intimate hotel in BKK stay here.

Guest Name flyingsteve_10
Period of Stay 11/27/2010
Guest Review

i've stayed at this property in both 2009, and 2010...with the '09 stay being during the celebration of chinese new year. if you're looking for a 'room with a view,' you'd best move on.
however...if you want to be totally immersed in the chinese experience, with some thai flavor... this is your spot. stay during lunar new year festivities (january/february) and you'll come face-to-face with dragons, drums, and fireworks, as soon as you walk out of the lobby. (the bruhaha in the streets is not heard in the rooms)

the decor at the mansion is 1930's classic 'old shanghai style,' with hanging lanterns, lots of red, and a beautiful indoor fish pond. that style continues into the rooms, where huge four-poster beds deliver a good night's rest. the service was excellent...detailed, and delivered with a personal touch. this
is not the chain-corporate experience...it's personal. i'd advised the front desk that i had to leave for my flight home at 2:45 a.m., and when i opened my front door...a porter was standing there, waiting to assist.

there's also a bar, the 'cotton club' that offers a live jazz combo several nights a week. that room serves as a restaurant during the day, and is the location for a very adequate breakfast. while it's not a buffet, there is a salad/fruit/cereal/bread bar, and a choice of entrees. it's your option to book a room with, or without breakfast. there's also free, wireless internet, with good signal strength even in the rooms...and a decent slate of television channels on flat screen tv's.

shanghai mansion is smack in the middle of yaowaraj road...the main street in the chinese quarter. you'll find fascinating markets all around you... filled with every manner of goods, along with fruit,
vegetable, meat and fish markets. it's stroller's heaven. within just a couple of blocks on yaowaraj and charoen krung roads, you'll also find approximately two dozen gold shops. these sell magnificent 23k
gold jewelry...96.5% pure gold of a stunning deep yellow color that will have your friends asking, "where did you get that??" it's all sold

Guest Name beck bb
Period of Stay 11/23/2010
Guest Review One of the loveliest place I have stayed in terms of room design, beautiful and quiet. Rooms are warm and large. The staff was very friendly, courteous and trustworthy, everytime you walk pass you can be sure someone would greet you with a smile. They eve

Guest Name karenphua
Period of Stay * Date of stay November 2010
* Visit was for Leisure
* Traveled with Other
* Member since November 21, 2010
Guest Review

We highly recommended Shanghai Mansion when holidaying in Bangkok. Fantastic service, the oriental decor, cozy environment, clean hotel rooms, complimentary mini bar and accessible food paradise.

We were welcome by team of friendly, helpful & patience front office staff leads by Ms Patty. Our trip involved olf folks and on numerous occasions seeks help. The (front office, kitchen & housekeeping) never refused our request and even went beyond our expectation to render their service (thumb up).

Guest Name Sharonluis
Period of Stay 11/20/2010
Guest Review

We were on honeymoon and therefore upgraded to a lovely room on the ground floor by the pond but OMG! I think we only paid 50 or 60 quid and the room was like a mini house but with the touches and decor of a 5*spa, oriental style. Gorgeous! The most comfy and gigantic bed I ever saw, huge chaise / sofa thing, great telly, cool lighting, a chest with facilities to make tea and coffee and fridge filled with goodies-all complimentary! Huge tub, filled with water and petals, loads of lovely products and bits, and the shower ..... Mmm! Big and powerful! Separated by frosted glass, as was the loo but separately! Love it! Can't fault it! The atrium is stunning with all the lanterns and pond. Colonial style place- gorgeous staircases etc. Staff great and good to have a bar with jazz playing live, nice touch! Breaky was plentiful and tasty. Pc's are set up for you to use Internet in the bar.

We needed the train station which is why we booked it. Very close but the hotel is a fair way from the main tourist attractions. It's in Chinatown. Traffic is always bad but A tuk tuk or taxi is available. 20 - 40mins to centre, depending on time of day. The boat buses are an interesting and better firm of transport although the taxi should never cost you more than £4-5 or so. Tuk tuk much cheaper! Careful of taking advice off the staff here! Everyone in thailand seems to be scratching someones back! We were sent by the bell-boy to a rip-off touristy seafood restaurant after asking for the night Market but the main mistakes was going to the "tourist information centre" - actually a seriously criminal con-artist travel agent called 'unseen travel'. We heard loads of awful stories about them scaring people out of their money. Avoid agents and companies wherever possible. Even when it's cheap, it'll take you all day to get somewhere that should have taken a few hours. Go to airports or train stations direct. Good luck!

Guest Name ckscot
Period of Stay * date of stay October 2010
* Visit was for Leisure
* Traveled with Extended Family
* Member since April 26, 2010
Guest Review I stayed here for a family wedding in October, we took over most of the hotel. I was bowled over by the style of the hotel - rooms like a 1930s glamorous film set , very dramatic and a treat for the senses - rose petals strewn in the bath for instance. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Its location is great too, right in the heart of Chinatown. Although the immediate area is teeming with life, the hotel itself is very quiet and peaceful. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Guest Name TolgaOzdemir
Period of Stay * Date of stay October 2010
* Visit was for Leisure
* Traveled with With Spouse/Partner
* Member since July 19, 2008
Guest Review

I stayed in this hotel on late October. It was a good experience of Asia for me. Decoration and atmosphere in this hotel is unique. You feel completely different. Hotel stufff is helpful and warm. Yea, it is not the best hotel in the city but this depends on what you looking for as "the best."

All in all, I recommend this hotel as being a good Asia experience and wonderful stuff.

Guest Name 1countryatatime
Period of Stay * Date of stay November 2010
* Visit was for Leisure
* Traveled with Solo Traveler
* Member since April 07, 2010
Guest Review I chose this hotel because it was close to the Train Station and seemed to have some character. I wasn't disappointed. It seemed a bit silly going to Bangkok and staying in a Chinese themed hotel, but I am very glad I chose it. The staff are very friendly and the room was big and had everything you would need. Would stay there again.

Guest Name kai H.
Period of Stay November 29, 2010
Guest Review excellent customer service from this hotel. walking distance to famous hawker street and seafood stall I love the room decoration and excellent customer service from this hotel.

Guest Name Sam Barclay (UK)
Period of Stay Arrival date: 21st October 2010
Departure date: 25th October 2010
Guest Review We came over for Davvid and Lilys wedding and had the most fantastic stay at your hotel. We were made to feel very welcome and it was lovely to see all members of staff with a smile on their faces and looking happy at their work. We stayed in three different venues on our trip and I rate yours No.1 . Many thanks and we hope to visit you again

Guest Name Le Dantec
Period of Stay Arrival date: 13 October 2010
Departure date: 21 October 2010
Guest Review Patty from bar is a good cocktails maker!

Guest Name BrookyLeeds (Leeds, United Kingdom)
Period of Stay October 2010
Guest Review “Oasis in the craziness of Bangkok”
We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon travels. I am happy to say I totally agree with the other reviews on here, once in the hotel we were blown away by the service, comfort, free minibar!! (first time I had ever heard of such if thing, i had to ask twice to be sure) and also free WiFi in your room. This hotel ticks all the boxes, everything is about a 50-100bht taxi ride away at most, and Chinatown is on your doorstep. The taxi ride from the airport (minus the traffic) was only 45 minutes and only 384bht on the meter. When we arrived they had a porter greet us and take our bags up to the room, show us everything and then let us know about the breakfast (ok) and any trips we wanted. This hotel is perfect and well worth the money in every respect. Big comfy bed too! Only annoyance was getting up at 3.30am to get a flight, although the hotel even made us up a breakfast box to take to the airport because we wouldn't be around for the actual breakfast. Little touches like that put our hotels at home to shame.

Guest Name 1775DC (Washington DC, District of Columbia)
Period of Stay October 2010
Guest Review “Great place to start a trip in Bangkok”
I arrived in Bangkok late at night and gave the taxi driver a printed out map to the hotel. Due to the time, I was worried about the hotel lobby being closed; however, a porter greeted me at the door and my name was on the welcome marquee. The escalator up to the lobby was a bit peculiar, but the lobby/hotel was beautiful. I was immediately offered a drink. The decor was funky and rich. The receptionists were always kind and helpful. My room had lanterns and a canopy bed - in fact, it was even complete with slippers. The bathroom was certainly funky - there was a birdcage in the shower. The common areas were pretty and functional - with games on communal tables by the indoor atrium. I had read that breakfast was by menu with tasty options, when in fact it was buffet. But the items on the buffet were good and it was a great place to leisurely enjoy a cup of coffee and a plate of fried rice before braving the go-go-go intensity of Chinatown. I really thought the small hotel did a good job with decor and small luxuries for travelers on a budget. And the rooms/hotel were quiet despite the Chinatown location. It was farther to the Reclining Buddha, Grand Palace, etc than I thought - definitely worth taking a taxi or tuk tuk. The walk is really long and the street crossings are hairy. While in Singapore, I ran into two Americans traveling to Bangkok for the first time. They were also staying at the Shanghai Mansion, which is always my recommendation.

Guest Name Qoobson ( warszawa)
Period of Stay October 2010
Guest Review “perfect boutique hotel in BKK”
spend there 3 nights (in pay 2 stay 3 offer) with wife and a baby of less then 2. convenient localization in Chinatown, but not that close to the city center. for us acceptable esp. that we like chinese moods. kind of a boutique hotel designed in brilliantly executed old South China concept. tasty breakfast and free wifi. nice old style baby cot. perfect service.

Guest Name fiona1605 (Isle of Wight, United Kingdom)
Period of Stay October 2010
Guest Review Quirky funny very well done with ultra friendly helpful staff. One little example. I ask one of the waitress to recommend a beauty salon for leg waxing. It was immediately arranged for her to take me off into Chinatown to show me where the salon was located. Actually it was located on the pavement of an adjoining street. Where much to the amusement of passing public my legs were de haried in public on the pavement a thoroughly cultural experience. The room was beautifully presented and as above the staff could not be more helpful. Brilliant value for money.

Guest Name Carol (Hungerford, United Kingdom)
Period of Stay October 18, 2010
Guest Review Staff were really helpful and even though we were in the heart of Chinatown the hotel was exceptionally peaceful and we couldn't fault it.

Guest Name Alicia S. (United States of America)
Period of Stay October 10, 2010
Guest Review Stylish hotel with lots of character. I really admired the hotel decor and design. The furniture, decor, fixtures, wall paper of my room we're really impressive and accurately reflected 1930s era Orient. I loved every detail. The location was perfect if you wanted to explore Bangkok's Chinatown.

Guest Name Muis85 (Noordwijkerhout)
Period of Stay September 2010
Guest Review “I love the way they decorated the rooms!”. We stayed here for 3 nights (it was a package) and in the package was a free upgrade to a deluxe room. The deluxe room is sooooo nice (if you like chinese style). We had a bath standing free in the room. A kingsize bed (2.00 meter) and a tv with dvd player (you can rent dvd's for free at the reception). Also the minibar is free (only pepsi, singha beer and ice tea), but i think that's also nice. It's like a 10 minutes walk to Hua Lampong metro/trainstation. When you walk outside it's very busy, but when you are inside the hotel you don't hear anything of the noice outside. The price we paid (7200 baht) for the 3 nights including breakfast was a good deal.

Guest Name kateosullivan17 (Cardiff, United Kingdom)
Period of Stay September 2010
Guest Review “SUPERB QUALITY FOR MONEY”. We booked three nights at this hotel whilst travelling through Thailand. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms are lovely. We were given a free upgrade on arrival and staff were very friendly. Free use of internet and complimentary mini bar in room! The resturant food was not very good but there was a lovely resturant accross the road, which was reasonable. The only downside was that when we checked out, we were charged just over £20 for two hand towels to be cleaned because there was some make up on them - this charge was two thirds of what we paid for the three nights!

Guest Name Stephen D. (Australia)
Period of Stay September 23, 2010
Guest Review Perfect place. Room/hotel services, decor, excellent staff, location to china town; the breakfast menu was a bit confusingWhat a fantastic find, when we go back to bangkok we will go straight there, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel and room was wonderfully decorated and in excellent condition, and the food and drinks in the mini bar are complimentry!!, try and find that in another hotel??, A great location in the china town area for the steet food markets etc.

Guest Name Ekaterina L. (Russia)
Period of Stay September 13, 2010
Guest Review Honeymoon at Shanghai Mansion. Superb design. We liked Shanghai Mansion very much, The design of the rooms is so unusuial and unique!

Guest Name Michela (Novara, Italy)
Period of Stay 2010
Guest Review Very nice the forniture and the style of the hotel - china 30's. The staff Are ready to' solve any problem

Guest Name A traveler from Dumaguete, Philippines recommends this hotel
Posted from Expedia on 10-Sep-10
http://www.expedia.com/pub/agent.dll/qscr=dspv/nojs=1/htid=1512570
Guest Review Excellent value for money. The entrance to the hotel does not do justice to the interior so don’t be put off as you will be delighted with the very pleasant and comfortable rooms which are well appointed with all conveniences. The spectrum of restaurant food could be increased to accommodate the desires of a wider clientèle as after three days the choices become boring. As to the location well China town is China town anywhere with the same sights, sounds and smells.

Guest Name Mr. Raj
Period of Stay 15/08/2010 - 17/08/2010
Guest Review Can't remember but I think he was a manager, he helped me with my vegetarian dietary needs. The bread selection should have been better. But it was good, overall. Would like to have: A larger vegetarian selection on the menu. Everything was excellent. I would love to stay here again the next time I return to Bangkok.

Guest Name Mariaserena Chiesa (Voghera, Italy)
Period of Stay 10.08 / 25.08 - 11.08 /26.08
Guest Review Breakfast is Very good; no one problem during our stay. No additional comment - perfect now: very great hotel!

Guest Name Echox2 (Toronto)
Period of Stay August 2010
Guest Review Gorgeous and great location”. Everything was simply beautiful. The colourful lanterns hung over the green koi pond, the dark wood in the rooms, the bamboo floor in the bathroom, the four poster bed...sigh! They had a great breakfast buffet too (and a breakfast DJ!). The staff were very nice and friendly. Being in Chinatown, you literally cannot walk 3 feet without passing by a restaurant or food stall. So many tasty, cheap options. I recommend the seafood place right on the corner.

Guest Name Caryl F. (New Zealand)
Period of Stay August 31, 2010 
Guest Review romantic ambience, diferent, great full breakfast, position, helpful staff, little extras in the room eg. free bottled water, pepsi and iced tea and free crisps. We had a great stay at the Shanghai Mansions - the instructions to gt there from the airport were clear, so the taxi found it with no trouble, the hotel porters were helpful and informative with great suggestions for dinner, but most of all the ambience wa stunning and the cleanliness great! I would highly reccommend this hotel, business travellers would find the room perhaps a little small and te writing desk was very small.
Review from  Agoda    

Guest Name Emma J. (United Kingdom)
Period of Stay August 09, 2010 
Guest Review Fastastic well decorated rooms in Chinese style. Lobby area and size of hotel fantastic. The hotel was everything we expected. Located right in Chinatown in Singapore it's an active area but you don't notice that when in the hotel and it's easily accessible to the main attractions. The hotel is large although you hardly notice it from the road. Rooms are immaculate and beautiful. We stayed inthe cheapest which did not have a window that you could open but had coloured glass onto the central atruim which has a fish pool at the bottom. The more expensive rooms had a private area over the atrium with seats and looked really nice. Our room was large, beautifully decorated, the staff are very pleasant and I would not wish to stay anywhere else if staying in Bangkok again.  
Review from  Agoda    

Guest Name khoo L. (Singapore)
Period of Stay August 06, 2010 
Guest Review The hotel may be old but it is well maintained. staffs are friendly and helpful. Food is delicious and even though it is free of charge. Room deco was beautiful and everything else was quite functional.
Review from  Agoda    

Guest Name Bella V. (United Kingdom)
Period of Stay August 04, 2010 
Guest Review Wonderful place, never stayed anywhere so beautiful. The staff will hail you a taxi or tuk tuk to get around. These are cheap and plentiful and it doesnt take long to get anywhere. Chinatown itself is a nice place to wander and get lost in. Nice jazzbar at top of hotel. 
Review from  Agoda    

Guest Name Lina (Asia/Pacific Region)
Period of Stay 30 jun 10 - 03 jul 10
Guest Review Breakfast is A bit limited but nice. Will recommend to a friend.

Guest Name Philip Schoofs (Melbourne, Australia)
Period of Stay July, 2010
Guest Review The Both Bellboy's were excellent (cannot remember the names). Reception staff also - All other staff also. The free mini bar was great. The free TukTuk was NOT necessary, also I think the included meals was not necessary - we would be pleased to pay for these services. We loved your hotel. It is our favorite and we have recommended you to our friends already. :-)



Guest Name Beryl Koster (Broadbeach, Australia)
Period of Stay June 12 - 15, 2010
Guest Review The food and service is excellent. It was a wonderful experience to stay with you, and one of the highlights of my trip, would like to revisit Bangkok just to stay with you.



Guest Name W.T.H. Tsai Sioe (Den Helder, Netherlands)
Period of Stay (1st period) July 8 to 19, 2010 (2nd Period)  
Guest Review The bellboys are friendly and ready to serve my needs



Guest Name Rossi Jam (Taipei, Taiwan)
Period of Stay June 10 - 13, 2010
Guest Review Happy with Sam's (bellboy) good service



Guest Name Jeff Salter (Brisbane, Australia)
Period of Stay May 28-1 June, 2010
Guest Review Happy with the conceirge on front door and barman in cotton club's service.
Very helpful with getting taxi and tourist info on request. Sorry we had forgotten his name (we gave the door staff a good tip when we left on the last day for their helpfullness). Very pleased we stayed here. Good staff. Good room prices



Guest Name ChunKiat Yeo (Singapore)
Period of Stay April 20 - 22, 2010
Guest Review Breakfast has the amazing good idea of the choice and then preparation. Everyone has been amazing!!! I was blown away! as good as my regular stay at Grand Hyatt Erawan. I LOVE YOUR HOTEL!



Guest Name  Denise Cooper (Port Richey, United States)
Period of Stay March 31 - April 04, 2010
Guest Review All staff were very helpful during redshirt demo



Guest Name Christina Harnois (Romford, United Kingdom)
Period of Stay March 20 - 23, 2010
Guest Review Glad with the night duty at reception on night of 22nd march. Had a lovely chat with him about budhist pendants we bought and he was telling us about them. Very kind and interesting great level of english. we stayed 2 years ago and there was an amazing thai massage service we really missed this option and booked again in part because of this we were dissapointed to find that it was no longer available, being in bangkok is very exhausting and having a massage room would be very nice for your customers, we would have had 2 massages each during our 3 day stay if we could have. the hotel renivation looks lovely but as I said it would be great to have one room on converted into a thai massage room it wouldn'tr have to be available all the time perhaps by booking only?



Guest Name Shiawling (San Leandro, United States)
Period of Stay February 24 - 25, 2010
Guest Review I loved the hotel just the way it is. Please keep up your fantastic work!


"Destination accommodation at its best."

Baristacrat | Hobart, Tasmania | Apr 16, 2010

In the teeming heart of Chinatown is Shanghai Mansions, an exquisitely appointed boutique hotel in the spirit of old Shanghai. Rooms are minimalist in size, bed and bathroom style, but super glam, allowing the over the top colour, texture and style of the furnishings to speak their decadence and thoughtfulness. Staff are gentle and polite, good english and the sweetness of the thai culture beautifully presented. Restaurant is great if you don't want to get amongst the chaotic throng of street vendors, otherwise all BKK has to offer is on your doorstep - if you can bear to leave the gorgeous hotel. WiFi internet worked a treat, as did the airconditioning - helpful in April. Airport pick up made it an easy trip through the famous traffic. Perfect stay.

"A funky boutique hotel in the heart of Chinatown"

Globalduo | Durham, England | Apr 13, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights B&B, the Shanghai Mansion hotel is right in the hustle and bustle of chinatown (which is brilliant to experience), but as soon as you get into the hotel and room the atmosphere is tranquil. If you prefer the sanitised atmophere of an international hotel, then this maybe isn't for you, but we loved it. The hotel is approx 10 mins walk to Hua Lampong train station and subway.
The greeting on arrival was very warm with a welcome thai tea, the rooms are a big plus, individually designed in Chinese style with a great 4 poster bed and walk in shower room. The breakfast is good with plenty of choice, the hotel also have there own tuk tuk driver who can take you wherever you want to go in Bangkok. All in all, when we revisit Bangkok we will use this hotel again.

"Beautiful place"

Detritus | Colombo | Apr 12, 2010

This place is in the middle of everything - right in the middle of Chinatown. The rooms are a bit small but the beds are cosy , the bathrooms are clean and the AC works great. The service in this hotel is excellent and the staff are there to serve you at any time. They provide a breakfast buffet which was well worth the price.

Do not take the taxis that the concierge will point you to outside the hotel - they are very expensive - instead take a walk down the street and you will get some cheap trishaws instead.

I will defintely return to this place on my next vist to Bangkok.

"An oasis of calm in amist hectic Bangkok"

Lonely_Plankton | New Zealand | Mar 26, 2010

This hotel is just bliss to go home to when you have spent a hectic day in the bustle of Bangkok.

Rooms were meticulously clean, staff were really friendly and welcoming and the free soft drinks were a welcome surprise in the humidity. Room service food was really good too.

Staff paid attention to every detail and you will not find a hotel of that standard for better value.

We even came back (even though it's location is China Town - the busiest area of Bangkok) after our trips elsewhere in Thailand and for that were given a complimentary upgrade to a fantastic suite. (Biggest bed in the world ;o)

I would return to this hotel without a doubt. If anyone fancies something more unique and not the usual generic big brand hotel chain, give it a go.

Jonathan Ong

"I could not remember his (bellboy) name, but he is alway there in day time when we arrived in the afternoon. Cheerful and welcome smile put away the afternoon heat, very accommodative, has given us a lot of advice about direction and save a lot of out time and transport expenses. "

Nancy & Christian | United Kingdom

"Many thanks for the short, but really pleasant and friendly stay. With kind regards."

A. Kristiansson | Stockholm, Sweden

"I think you do an excellent job already! Thank you for a great stay!"

Helen B. | Australia

"Thought the standard room was a little small but the price was good. If I stayed for more than one night I would book a bigger room to have more space. But over all I really enjoyed finding your hotel in Bangkok and I will be returning- at last a stylish place to stay at Thank you "

Sitemap : Home | Cotton | Wedding | Meeting | Photo Shoot | Dining | Rates | Special Offers | Things To Do | Directions | Contact Us
The Mansion : Public Rooms | History | News | Reviews | Internet Facilities | Jobs | Gallery
Bedrooms : Mu Dan - Peony Suites | Mu Dan - Peony Classic | Ying Hua - Cherry Blossom Havens | Mei Hua - Plum Blossom Havens
  © 2010 Shanghai Mansion, All rights reserved.